Bounce Back Loan - Have I done anything wrong?

Options
I'm a sole trader and took out a bounce back loan of £40,000 back in May. At the time, cash flow was extremely tight. I had already deferred my April VAT payment of £14,000 and was dipping in and out of my overdraft. I was owed £30,000 from clients who obviously had difficulty paying.

When I received the bounce back loan, I paid off an existing £7,000 business loan (with same lender), paid the £14,000 deferred VAT bill and used it to cover employees salaries etc... for a month or so.

However, business continued throughout. We were all able to work from home (no furlough), and continued to generate income. From late June to present, clients have found it easier to pay due to going back to work, SEISS grants and getting their own loans. During which time, I've been drawing about £2,000 per week from my business, totalling at around £40,000. I had profits retained in the business from previous years so the drawings are from profit. 

I still have £15,000 in the bank from the bounce back loan. So I used about £25,000 of it. I'm currently owed about £55,000 from clients (up £25,000 from April), so I've used the bounce back loan to cover the increase in outstanding debtors.

My question is, have I done anything wrong by withdrawing my profit? In theory, I could've drawn far less money and repaid the bounce back loan. Have I acted improperly? I am quite confident that my business will continue and the loan will repaid in full over its term.

Note: I didn't simply just withdraw £40,000 after getting the loan. I took it gradually as funds came in from clients. I used the drawings to support myself and family members who were in need.

Admittedly, I'm a worrier. I'm worried the bank will see that I made regular £1000/£2000 transactions to myself over the last 4 months and I'll end up in trouble. If that happened, what would the consequences be?

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    Options