The MSE Forum will be undergoing some maintenance this evening. As a result, some users may experience temporary performance issues. Please use the Site Feedback board to report anything major. Thank you for your patience.

Is this legal

Employer has asked told me they are restructuring the company so my job will disappear in this restructuring. They can offer me a driving job, reduced hours and alot less pay and of course take away my company car. I was a manager in an office. Is this all legal. I have only being at this company for a year and a half so no redundancy.

Comments

• jessy1 said:
    Employer has asked told me they are restructuring the company so my job will disappear in this restructuring. They can offer me a driving job, reduced hours and alot less pay and of course take away my company car. I was a manager in an office. Is this all legal. I have only being at this company for a year and a half so no redundancy.
     Yes it's legal. You have no employment rights other than from discrimination. They can let you go at any time. 
  • TELLIT01
    TELLIT01 Posts: 16,363
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper PPI Party Pooper
    Forumite
    They are at least giving you the offer of a job and they are in short supply at present.  If you reject the job offer you have nothing so might want to consider accepting the driving job as a stop gap.  Any form of employment looks better on a CV than a gap.
  • Dox
    Dox Posts: 3,116
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Forumite
    jessy1 said:
    What do you think is 'illegal' about it? You can be dismissed for any (or no) reason, including redundancy, if you have under two years of service unless you have been discriminated against on the grounds of some 'protected' characteristic (e.g. age, gender, race).

Otherwise perfectly lawful, albeit extremely unwelcome - but at least there's a job offer on the table, which is vastly better than being unemployed. 
  • steampowered