Home Goals

Options
meerkatpie
meerkatpie Posts: 118 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
edited 12 August 2020 at 9:11PM in Debt free diaries
Good Evening Ladies, Gentlemen and Others,

This is my first time to the forum, so please do bare with me.

I have done a lot of thinking and I have decided it is time to open up about my debt issues.

At 23 years old, I have probably been in debt since as soon as I could obtain credit at 18. Starting off with a small credit card, this soon mounted up to the point where I took out a loan to cover the credit card, then another credit card and so on.

Now I am wanting to save for a house, but there is no way I am getting a mortgage without a change, so here we are.

I have a pretty poor relationship with money. When I did turn 18, I was left to be free with my finances, I never had any parental advice and we never learn about money management in school.

This relationship was made worse when I managed to land a job in a very well known High Street bank. This was a blessing, as I loved my time there, but a curse as all I saw was money, what I didnt factor in, was that I dealt with mainly older people, with much more worldly knowledge and who had worked hard for what was in their accounts. Now, that made me want money and the only way to have more than the small salary I earned, was to borrow, meaning that I entered a debt spiral... bad times.

Fast forward a few years, I have a new job and I have become more humble, I don't care about the flashier things or the newest tech. I want to be happy and have a little home I can call mine, but I can't do that with my debt.

So here is time for a change and to a new life of being debt free.

My situation is better as I have recently been overpaying, but I am not there yet:

Income - approx £1700 a month

Debt:

Tesco Loan - £7800
Barclaycard - £3500
Car Loan - £15800

My payments are:

Tesco loan - £500 (£231 standard payment and £269 Overpayment)