Forum Home» Pensions, Annuities & Retirement Planning

Could state pension be pushed back even further? - Page 3

New Post Advanced Search

Could state pension be pushed back even further?

23 replies 2.6K views
13»

Replies

• german_keepergerman_keeper Forumite
    90 posts
    Second Anniversary 10 Posts Name Dropper
    Many years ago I worked as an Adjudication Officer for the Benefits Agency (that's how long ago it was). There was a limited amount of backdating allowed but we used to regularly get requests from people to backdate much further due to being unaware of the benefit. There was a phrase we quoted, something along the lines that each individual was expected to take all reasonable steps to make themselves aware of their entitlement. I assume that was a legal thing rather than just our process. As State Pension is a benefit I don't see why people approaching retirement (or in this case people many years from retirement) should be exempt from this requirement any more than disabled people or their carers for example.    
  • thatoldchestnutthatoldchestnut Forumite
    86 posts
    Part of the Furniture 10 Posts Combo Breaker
    Been wondering for a while what I should assume my state pension age will be. The current official forecast is 68, so as a 38 year old male so still thirty years away from being able to take it even if it didn't increase between now and then. I previously assumed it would increase to about 70 by the time I got to it, but perhaps I'm being much too optimistic.
  • atushatush Forumite
    18.6K posts
    Tenth Anniversary 10,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi folks,
    Just wondering as I fall into this category, do you think there is much of a possibility that the state pension could be pushed back a year or more, even for those about to receive it, in less than four years time from now?
    I ask because there is so much talk that the billions pumped into the virus pandemic has to be paid for somehow?
    Thanks.