Need some out of the box ideas

Hi all,

I've made a firm decision that the 9-5 is not for me, nor is living in one place and following a routine. I've tried so many times and it makes me miserable. 
I am looking at buying a property abroad with my boyfriend (he lives in that country), which we will rent out on airbnb. It'll make a decent return especially with much lower outgoings out there. 

I have a mortgage in the UK. I want to keep a property here as the ideal is to spend 6 months here, 6 months of summer running the holiday rental. I'm an artist and sell my goods on the side but have very little free time or energy outside the 40hour week drag. I'm wanting to start a family within the next few years and will likely want to do that in the UK, hence having the stability of a home here.

I cant figure out how to piece all of this together. I'm open to selling my house (will get aprox 50k equity).. I've started looking at buying land and a container home and am open so alternative options. 

Would love to hear peoples' thoughts. Everybody I know does 'the norm' and strives for more, bigger house  bigger mortgage. I just want to OWN something and feel like I have ownership over my daily life.

Thank you!

Replies

• GrumpelstiltskinGrumpelstiltskin Forumite
    3.2K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    I would say be cautious, don't burn your boats in the UK straight away. It may not work out in a different country and if you have nothing to come back to and it has all gone pear shaped you could be in a difficult position.
    If you go down to the woods today you better not go alone.
  • ryllasryllas Forumite
    2 Posts
    First Post Photogenic
    Get yourself a cushion, some passive income and look into location-independent income.

So if you haven’t already get some savings and try investing. A stocks and shares ISA with some tracker funds are the lower end of the risk and will