Investing as an Expat

Options
I'm looking for some advice investing as an expat.  I researched how to invest as a beginner on MSE and I concluded that Vanguard's LS80/20 asset best matched my investing ambitions.  I'm a 31 year old lecturer based in China, paying tax in China and want to invest for the long-term (20-30year horizon).  I have a small amount of capital to start with, and plan to contribute monthly to my investment.  After researching DIFM vs. DIY, Nutmeg and similar platforms, and reading other threads on here about fees, I concluded that Vanguard's LS80/20 was the most cost-effective investment option, with the right amount of risk for a longer investment horizon.  Then I hit a snag.  I spoke to Nutmeg's advisors and not being a UK taxpayer was not an issue for them.  Of course, ISAs are out of the question, but I would be eligible for the general investment account.  Alas, this is not the same for Vanguard.  It would appear that I cannot invest through them given my current residence and tax status. 

Any suggestions?

I feel my situation is two questions:
1. The right investment (like Vanguard LS80/20)
2. How to invest in something like that as an expat?

I'm not against revisiting question 1 - there may be something better out there for me.  But unless someone is confident I could find something better suited to my preferences, I'm going to focus on question 2.  As an expat, how can I invest in something like that?

One other thing.  Upon realising my problem, I did some research on investing as an expat.  I found a company called inter-uk (iuk or inter-ukfs).  They can assist, but there will be charges.  I tried to find reviews of the company, but couldn't.  Anyone with experience of them? Should I consider going through a FS for expats service?

Comments

• ColdIron
    ColdIron Posts: 9,051 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Do you have any pension arrangements in place?
  • Mr.Saver