New Post Advanced Search

Comparison of energy price

9 replies 120 views
Dpp83Dpp83 Forumite
5 posts
Third Anniversary
MoneySaving Newbie
Hello to all money saving experts , I hope you can help me . I have been switching energy suppliers for more than 10 years using comparing sites , trusting them that they'll do the hard work for me , every time they show me different supplier , claiming they're the cheapest one for me , for the first few months I pay the promised price and than the price goes up with EVERY SINGLE company I've used. My current supplier promised me around 20%cheaper price , but few months down the line I pay twice as much than my previous supplier , I don't know how the comparison sites work as they estimate your feature usage , is there way to compare the prices by price per unit/ kWh and daily standard charge , as when I compared those prices between my old and new supplier , my new one was more expensive , so how does the comparison calculatter tells me that supplier is cheaper ?The pricing is made so complicated , that people can't make the math themselves , leaving us relaying on sales man/tools and when our expectations don't get met they using as an excuse price /usage spike.

Replies

• Robin9Robin9 Forumite
    6.7K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    You've inadvertently posted in the wrong part of the forum - you're not the first and won't be the last - it's badly designed but MSE won't change.

You are falling foul of the stupid rules that the comparison sites have to work to. |You should always ignore the savings and look at the bottom line figure and compare that with what you are actually paying.

The sites don't estimate your usage if you give them your actual consumption - if you say you have 4 beds then that's where the guesses and the errors come in.

I've swopped several times and not had the change of DD that you refer to.
    Never pay on an estimated bill
  • dogshomedogshome Forumite