Forum Home» Phones & TV

Sky refusing to cancel elderly parent's contract after long term hospitalisation

New Post Advanced Search
We are currently experiencing a high volume of spam and have increased the sensitivity of our spam filters. This could mean that genuine posts may get caught. If you believe this has happened to one of your posts, please email the Forum team on [email protected] As always, we are really grateful for your patience whilst we get this sorted - which we'll do as soon as possible.
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

Sky refusing to cancel elderly parent's contract after long term hospitalisation

22 replies 752 views
marcusdhmarcusdh Forumite
7 posts
First Post
I have been paying my father's Sky TV and Broadband bills for over five years. He is eighty-nine and earlier this year, the contract was downgraded to save costs. However, six weeks ago, my father suffered a stroke and will now no longer return home. The house is empty and nobody is using the Sky services. Sky refuse to cancel the contract on the basis that the contract is in my name. I already have a Sky contract at my own house.

Replies

• JJ_EganJJ_Egan Forumite
    16.8K posts
    Tenth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    They are correct  you are in a valid contract .
    Try a nice letter to them explaining the situation you are in .
  • Neil_JonesNeil_Jones Forumite
    4.6K posts
    Eighth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    The TV and Broadband should really have been in your father's name, then this situation would have solved itself.  If you then wanted to pay it, you could have transferred the due from an account of your own prior to the debit coming out.