black bugs on fruit trees

edited 7 May at 12:16PM in Greenfingered MoneySaving
15 replies 273 views
rabialionesrabialiones Forumite
1.9K posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
✭✭✭
edited 7 May at 12:16PM in Greenfingered MoneySaving
i am a newbie to gardening so would appreciate any advice.
i bought some bare root mini trees last year, they have produced leaves this year, but not much blossom . maybe its not time for blossom yet. , anyway , i am concerned because  i have noticed  on one of the trees the leaves have black insects on them, and they are increasing.
there was a peach, cherry , nectarine, apple , pear and a plum tree,  after planting , i forgot which was which , so i am not quite sure which of the trees it is that has this problem.
i have looked at pesticides, but would prefer something organic or home made.
i would be really grateful if you could give me some tips/ideas to deal with this problem and any advice on how to care/feed them
thanks
Nice to save.

Replies

• edited 7 May at 12:59PM
    -taff-taff Forumite
    11.8K posts
    10,000 Posts Seventh Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 7 May at 12:59PM
    Possibly blackfly. Check ia the base of the trees for ants nests [lightly dig with a trowl avoiding the roots] to see if you have ants because ants will mine aphids for the sweet sap they produce.
    To get rid of the blckfly, if it is blackfly, a squirty bottle with water a a dollop of washing up liquid and spray them and/or blast them off. Won't hurt the plant but forms a film over the aphids so they die.
    I
  • FarwayFarway Forumite
    8.6K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    If there are not too many, just gently squish them between your fingers
  • rabialionesrabialiones Forumite
    1.9K posts
    ✭✭✭
    thanks for the responses,