What is the Trustee of a Trust required to do ?

Options
Please be gentle with me and if possible explain things to me in Laymans Terms.
A relative of mine passed away a while ago and amongst other things, left a sum to be kept in Trust, with my Mum being allowed to take any interest/income from it (if she wants to), with me being named as Trustee.
When my Mum passes on, the Trust will then get wound up and the balance will be divided between my sister and I. (my sister doesn't live in the UK)
I have very little knowledge of Trusts and similarly little knowledge of being a Trustee.
Am I on the right lines that I could open an account with say HL, as a Trust (I imagine that I'd need to supply the Trust Deeds etc).
Invest in a way thats deemed to be appropraite, say a Worldwide Tracker fund, as an Income fund, with any Income that is generated going to my Mum (or reinvested in the Tracker fund if she genuinely doesn't want it).
How are the relevant taxes paid across to HMRC ? Does the Fundhouse (say HL) provide a Tax Certificate which is then for me as a Trustee to pay from the Trust Funds or are charges taken from the Trust Fund automatically.
Is this something that I can do as a Sole Trustee, or do I need someone else/others to join me as Trustees ?
I don't want to make a hash of things and want to make sure that HMRC get their relevant pound of flesh, but I also don't want to sadlle the Trust Fund with unneseccary charges.
I'm on a steep learning curve here and as ever, all thoughts are gratefully rec'd.

Comments

• xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,582 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Read through the whole of  https://www.gov.uk/trusts-taxes/types-of-trust for details of tax as applied to different types of Trust/how pay tax/tax cert for beneficiaries etc. - if you are not sure of the type of trust, ask the solicitor who drafted the Deed. Read the Deed very carefully.