edited 8 April 2020 at 6:06AM in Mortgage-Free Wannabe
98 replies 5.7K views
BabyStepperBabyStepper Forumite
746 posts
500 Posts Second Anniversary Name Dropper
✭✭
edited 8 April 2020 at 6:06AM in Mortgage-Free Wannabe
Hiya :)

How's everyone doing? I'm a newbie here and have spent the last 2 years hanging out on the dfw boards, paying off £21,228.07 of debt - here's the link to my diary if you fancy a look. https://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/discussion/5865681/tidying-up-the-mess/p1 

I am self-employed and OH has a very stable job. We learned how to budget and live within our means while paying off debt and used a mix of Dave Ramsey, Martin Lewis but mostly the helpful people on this site to get there. I need help with all this, managing money does not come naturally to me, and the support, encouragement and advice from everyone on here has been the single most valuable thing. So here I am for the next step, mortgage freedom.  

It seems to be the worst possible time to be starting a challenge like this - my job has taken a hit because of the virus and the future is uncertain. I had lots of plans for managing the finances once the debt was gone, all of them have had to be shelved for now. My wage has reduced temporarily but we can live on OH's wages, anything I can bring in is helpful, and who knows what I'll get from the government in June, just need to wait and see.

If anyone would like to join me for the journey, I would appreciate the chat. I'm also hoping that my wise friends from my previous thread find their way over here too, I still need your help! I'm planning to have a look around and see how others are getting on with it all - at the minute it seems like an insanely big task but hey, you've got to start somewhere, right?

It's good to be here, finally. :)  

Emergency fund £8,500/£8,500
Mortgage overpayment £260
Debtfree!
£21,228.07 paid off in 22 months

Replies

• Sunshine_girl2Sunshine_girl2 Forumite
    1.4K posts