»

Accommodation during COVID-19

New Post Advanced Search

Coronavirus: The latest from MSE

The MSE team is working extremely hard to keep the info we have about your travel rights, cancellation rights, sick pay (and more) up to date.
The official MSE guides: NEW MSE Coronavirus Guides

NEWSFLASH
FOREIGN OFFICE TRAVEL ADVICE * FURLOUGH UPDATE * MORTGAGE LENDING

Accommodation during COVID-19

6 replies 315 views
TomWalesTomWales Forumite
1 posts
MoneySaving Newbie
Hello,
I am a first year student, and have now travelled home for the rest of the academic year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 
I have informed the accommodation office that the room is now empty, and clean. This being said, they’re still refusing to stop the last payment for the accommodation term during+after the Easter break. 

Is there anything I can do to reduce, or stop the payment. It’s a substantial amount. Something else worth noting, is that the licence states that a platinum gym membership worth £300 is included. This gym has since shut due to COVID. Is there anything I can do to get a refund on the membership?

Thanks,
Tom

Replies

• edited 21 March at 3:27PM
    need_an_answerneed_an_answer Forumite
    2.7K posts
    Sixth Anniversary 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    edited 21 March at 3:27PM
    You should be getting a student loan payment towards the beginning of April,you will probably now be best using some or all of this payment towards the rental payment that is due....hopefully now that you are back home your outgoings that may have been supported by the student loan payment may be reduced,by eating with the family etc
    When you started your tenancy you will have signed a tenancy agreement,you will need to read this to see if there is any exit/break clause,although knowing student agreements I would expect the tenancy to be of a fixed term for a set amount of weeks between sept-june or thereabouts.