Water rates questions

New Post Advanced Search

Water rates questions

10 replies 71 views
Gingernut86Gingernut86 Forumite
4 posts
First Post
MoneySaving Newbie
I live in a ground floor, one bed flat and am a single person. However the building my flat is in is a converted semi, one flat up, one down. 
I have experienced a few issues with water billing. This is my first attempt at independent living, as I have Autism it has been a challenge for me, but I am getting there one step at a time. 
The issues I have been having is I have had two attempts to get a meter fitted, and both were thwarted by the tenant in the flat upstairs refusing access, as Severn Trent need to gain access to that flat in order to complete a flow test to find out if the supply is split. This tenant has now left the above flat, but continues to maintain the tenancy by paying rent. The person does not pay anything towards water bills, and has amounted a large debt. So far I have not seen any action being taken against this person.