Partner has debts!

Options
Skyler1
Skyler1 Posts: 2 Newbie
edited 18 December 2019 at 2:44PM in Debt-free wannabe
Really sorry if there is already a thread for this, I’m new to this and I am desperate for some advice.
I’ve been together with my (now) husband for 3 years. We’ve lived together for about 2 years. When I’ve cleaned the house I kept finding letters from debt collecting companies saying he owes £500 - £900 - £1500 etc. to different credit card companies/banks/electricity companies/council tax!

The worrying this was these letters were always hidden under the sofa, behind the microwave, on top of the fridge, under some books on the book shelf. I didn’t want to confront him because it will transpire I have been reading his post so I kind of just said “oh found a letter with your name on it, must have fallen behind the microwave”, and he’d just look at it and go “oh yeah” and swiftly put it away in his set of bedside drawers. I thought he’s a reasonable person, he works full time so I’m sure he’ll take care of his debt.

Recently though, a bailiff came knocking on the door looking for him! I am scared to death from bailiffs, I’m not sure why but they absolutely terrify me. I’ve never had to deal with a bailiff in my life, so this was quite a traumatizing experience. My husband was not home so I refused to let him in and he got quite threatening and passive aggressive like “you wouldn’t hide him from me, would you?”. I refused to let him in, told him to please leave the building (we live in a flat) and I’ll let my husband know he came.

When my husband came I was in tears literally screaming why this bailiff came knocking. He just brushed it off, told me not to worry and that it’s some “mix up with Barcalys”. Thankfully the bailiff never came again but how do I know he won’t just pop up again one day?!