New Post Advanced Search

Cheap living alternative lifestyle

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Debt-free Wannabe Challenges
6 replies 1.5K views
Jibber123Jibber123 Forumite
66 posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Debt-free Wannabe Challenges
I had of an epiphany a couple of years ago, while stuck in traffic on the daily 2 hour drive to work i thought why am i doing this just to put food on the table everyday, there has to be another way. So the wife and me sat down with a pen an paper and started to write down where all our money goes. We've always been thrifty but we were amazed at just how much things cost and when we went through the list of what we actually needed to survive. A few simple things got taken of the list straight away and as we went through it we started to question everything. Now first off my wife and I are both practical people, my wife used to work in farming and i'm an engineer so not much phases us. We were also in a fortunate position to have just moved house and we had a large garden at our disposal. The first thing we realized is you can't do without money. we Didn't want to become hemp underwear clad hippies, we just wanted a better way of life. Needless to say 2 years on and things are going great, we've had great fun experimenting and learning new things and meeting new people along the way. It's taught me there is more to life than the 9 to 5 grind, and certain aspects are very rewarding. Now for the downside, after all if it was easy everyone would be doing it right. It takes a lot of commitment and long hours and physical work, compared to sitting in an office and car for most of the day. It also takes a certain mindset as things will always go wrong and it takes a lot to get up and carry on when your cold, wet and tired, but the rewards are defiantly worth it. Why am i writing this. Basically i wanted to share my experiences with people and offer some advise to people thinking about trying to do the same, weather it's how to gr