Reversed into a 'friends' car

Options
Treaders71
Treaders71 Posts: 1 Newbie
edited 30 April 2019 at 1:58PM in Motoring
My Step daugfhter was visiting a friend from school for the afternoon, when my wife and i went to collect her, I reversed our car ( I have recently passed my test, but my wife is a long time driver, I am only a named driver on her vehicle insurance) and accidently overshot it and hit my daughters, friends, mothers car.. I caused a small dent on the rear drivers side as well as a ding and some paint loss on both cars.. I have taken our car to a body repair company who say it will cost approx £140 + VAT to fix the panel damage and paint on our Hyundai; my daughters friends mother has had a 'guy' they know look at it and they are being quoted £400..
I think, looking at our damage and the cost, that this is excessive.. we know they have damage on the rear passenger side and wonder if they are trying to claim for both sides and get us to pay it.. this 'guy' is a family friend of theirs.. We have asked them to take their car to the same place as ours given that we are offering to pay away from our insurance companies, but they are refusing.

What should we do, how many quotes should they get and what, if anything, can we ask for in terms of their getting a quote? We think asking them to go to the place we are using is reasonable but we feel they are trying to 'scam' us a little bit..what to do???

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    If you're trying to avoid telling your insurance, then you leave yourself open to whatever they want to do to get their car fixed.

If you think they're trying to scam you, then you'll also need to play by the rules and report the incident to your insurance.
  • Ebe_Scrooge
    Ebe_Scrooge Posts: 7,320 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options