funeral cost

Options
My dad has recently passed away, he divorced mum so its down to me and my brother to arrange the funeral, i have never done anything like this before, and am looking for some advice as to how much it should cost. i want to give dad a good send off, but i dont want to be ripped off.
we are having a burial, there is no existing plot, we want to keep it simple, i have looked on the co-operative website and the plan we think is the best is £4500 not including flowers, is this fair or is this just an indication of cost.
we will be having a catholic service, do we need to pay the church for this? and the nearest cemetary is not at the church.
and how much does a burial plot cost?
the funeral will be in salford manchester

thanks
its only a bargain, if you need it or will use it.

:beer:

Comments

• rnj
    rnj Posts: 60 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    That seems about right I think in terms of cost, maybe slightly higher. They should give a break down of each element at the funeral directors (casket type, speaker cost, organist etc these are mostly optional things, they're not much individually but add up), this is the whole point of a funeral director, to arrange it all for you. I recently arranged one with a funeral home and the trend seems to be celebration of life (held away from the crematorium/cemetary) which tends to be a little more expensive than a regular funeral.

Weirdly when I went the burial fee was an additional cost I had to pay the council that the funeral director arranged but did not quote me a figure initially, this came to about £600 plus a cost for headstone and stonemason labour. IIRC a burial plot and stone was about twice the cost of a cremation plot. I think it varies depending on where you get buried, what council you are part of. I guess they kept that fee separate as many people scatter ashes instead.
  • Mojisola
    Mojisola Posts: 35,559 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary