Phone contract credit check

Options
Hi everyone,

I'm a recent graduate and just received my Aqua credit card. I'd like to pay my monthly phone bill with it to build credit, so I called to set up my account and they said can we have your details to perform a credit check. I said sorry I'll call back.

My credit rating is obviously not too high, so will there be a problem when they run their check? Can I still build my rating by paying my monthly phone bill?

Thanks!

Comments

• Ben8282
    Ben8282 Posts: 4,821 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post Newshound!
    Options
    Why do they want to perform a credit check to change the method of payment of your monthly phone bill? Assuming that credit cards are accepted by the phone company as a means of payment, there should be no problem.
  • Willing2Learn
    Willing2Learn Posts: 6,294 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    Are you saying the phone company want to run the credit check? That should be fine. It is easier to pass a credit check for a phone than it is for a credit card. :)
    I work within the voluntary sector, supporting vulnerable people to rebuild their lives.

I love my job

:smiley:
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    If they do take cards it will either be a CPA (which you must cancel down yourself if you terminate the contract) or you need to pay manually.

You will also likely be charged extra for not paying by Direct Debit - usually an extra £5 per month.
  • boo_star
    boo_star Posts: 3,202 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    !!! wrote: »
    If they do take cards it will either be a CPA (which you must cancel down yourself if you terminate the contract) or you need to pay manually.

You will also likely be charged extra for not paying by Direct Debit - usually an extra £5 per month.

Can't see how charging £5 extra would be legal post PSD 2018.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    boo_star wrote: »