Dozens bank account?

Options
Anyone heard of Dozens bank/app? It has a 5% bond and you use the account as a current account as opposed to a savings one. Seems to good to be true? There may be a catch somewhere but this would put the app/bank quite high in terms of the interest it offers. They also have FSCS protection but only up to £50k. Anyone already have it? Or have any thoughts? Can’t post the link yet as I’m a newbie :(

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 31,521 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    https://www.dozens.com/blog/our-5-bonds-everything-you-want-to-know/ mentions that the 5% bond is an investment product rather than savings as such (hence the lower FSCS cover) but doesn't seem to spell out the consequences of that, in terms of capital being at risk, which is what you'd expect the FCA would insist on them doing.

They even pose the question (in red) about the value of the investment, and then fail to actually answer it:
    But is my money safe?

When putting money into any investment products, there are two main factors for you to consider – whether the company you made the investment with can meet its financial commitments, and whether the investments you made will fluctuate in different market conditions.

The interest offered by our fixed interest bonds will not fluctuate even in different market conditions. However we understand that you will still need to be comfortable that as a new company, dozens will be able to meet its financial obligations. Because of this, and to help build your trust in us, for the first £1 million bonds sold we will place an amount of money equal to the amount you invested plus the full 12-months interest, in a separate trustee-controlled account held on your behalf in case of any default.

And remember, you are covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme for up to £50,000 for our misselling or default.
    As ever, if it looks too good to be true....