Improve Your Web Browser For Free!

Options

Comments

• sra
    sra Posts: 4,678 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    Jay1b wrote:
    Firefox has serious unresolved security issues. Microsoft ones are generally fixed within 24 hours of becoming found.

*This is what i do for a living, so any Microsoft Haters out there, please dont argue. :P

I don't think even Microsoft suggest that they are faster at patching than Firefox.

They point out that they have to test things out with toolbars etc while Firefox just rolls on and lets the extension makers catch up
  • gorilla
    gorilla Posts: 217 Forumite
    Options
    I have switched from firefox to Netscape. It is a bit slower starting up but I haven't had any spyware in a week (checking with adaware / spybot etc) encompasses many of the advantages of firefox such as tabbed browsing. I haven't tried Opera yet but I think I will give it a go next.
    With regard to IE, I never really had a problem with it, I only switched because I wanted to see what I could get for free and how that would compare to IE. Let's be honest IE isn't that bad a product it's just open to so much abuse from MS haters. But IE fans, you have to admit that IE is outdated and can you afford to wait for the next generation?
  • Chippy_Minton
    Chippy_Minton Posts: 3,339 Forumite
    Options
    MSE_Martin wrote:
    Browsers are the software used to view the Net. 90% of people use Microsoft's Internet Explorer, yet Mozilla's Firefox is commonly regarded as beating it hands down & a free 'British' English version is available.

It's worth a look (you don't have to get rid of your old browser) as amongst other things it allows free live updates to sites such as MoneySavingExpert!).

Download/Read more about Firefox (the download is top right)

Read about RSS live bookmarks for MoneySavingExpert.com