For daytime electricity usage, which meter is more cost effective: Economy 7 or a standard metre?

Options
chris112
chris112 Posts: 127 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post
edited 30 August 2018 at 4:20PM in Energy
i recently moved into a new flat which has electricity with SSE with an Economy 7 metre

so i joined the MSE cheap energy club and 'Yorkshire energy' is quoting a saving of £150 pr year

so when getting my info from SSE i was advised to switch to a standard metre, instead of the economy 7 one.as i only use electricity from 8am-11pm

so i called SSE and they plan to change my metre to a standard one in the near future

so i called Yorkshire energy to see if hey can do this, so i can switch sooner but they told me i shouldnt switch metres, 'its called economy for a reason',

so im confused which metre would be mot cost effective for m?

mu usage is, general, from 8am - 10pm, with no overnight heating/usage.
due to disability i am unemployed

as its my first time switching, im not sure which meter is the most suitable when being told conflicting information

my k/w per year usage previously was 2300kw
my previous provider projected my usage at 57%
i live in a one bedroom flat, privately rented

any advice please?

Comments

• Robin9
    Robin9 Posts: 12,102 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Options
    First - its meter - a metre is a unit of length.

If you use no electricity at night an E7 tariff is no use to you. It only becomes economic if you have a heavy night-time load like storage heaters and water heating and the breakeven figure is about 35-40 %

In practise you will use some electricity at night - fridge, freezer lights.

I don't know what your previous suppliers figure of 57% means unless there is night-store heating. Are you sure they are talking about the right flat?

When you say 2300kwh was that at your previous flat?