No Motor Legal Protection and Policy Excess outstanding?

I was involved in a minor fender bender with no personal injury beginning April. The other party who was insured with Admiral, accepted blame immediately as we exchanged details.

I'm insured with eSure but upon taking out the policy I did not take out Motor Legal Protection, as this was provided as an option at the time and I thought it unnecessary to do so. I've been a safe driver for years and any incidents I have been involved with have been other people's fault. That was my reasoning anyway.
My vehicle was repaired with an eSure nominated repairer.
The whole incident was quite painless, up until I got my repaired car back.

Problems started really with eSure telling me they would waive my policy excess if I could supply them with the full name and address of the at-fault-party. These details were never exchanged when we had the collision, the only details i had was telephone number and registration details/insurer details from the other party.

According to eSure, this meant I had to pay my policy excess to the crash repairer when I picked up my car after it had been repaired. They provided a receipt for me.

Whilst the claim was being handled, I got sporadic emails from the claims handlers at eSure, who I'd replied to asking if they needed my dash cam footage to help the case. I never received any responses apart from the standard automatic replies.

After some weeks I finally received an email from my insurer that they had confirmation of liability from the other party and that my dash cam footage was not required. Great I thought. Better late than never.
I responded once again asking what the situation was with my policy excess that I had paid to the crash repairer. Again, some weeks went by with me chasing eSure up but never got any further reply from them - until I called them.