Clydesdale Bank launches mortgage which allows customers to borrow up to 5.5 times their salary

Options

Comments

• studentguy
    studentguy Posts: 188 Forumite
    Options
    Thrugelmir wrote: »
    A job title doesn't make you a professional. Qualifications do.

Define profession
    a person engaged or qualified in a profession.

Note the OR. Besides most people I know in my industry do have qualifications, usually all people with degrees... So that doesn't stand up either. I'm a professional, seems silly to restrict it to those particular professions, what whatever, doesn't affect me anyway just irritating.
    Despite my name, I'm not a student any more
  • dinkylink
    dinkylink Posts: 228 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Think this is just headline grabbing as this isn't actually much different from the income multiples Clydesdale currently use.

I'm trying to remortgage through Clydesdale at the moment and their lending criteria states;

"As a guide, we would want the client to have no individual BTL mortgage (whether with ourselves or any other lender) of more than 4.5 x income, dependent on individual affordability."

This is already .5 over the 4 x income stated as the usual maximum multiple in the article. And many other lenders will lend more than 4 x income.

And note the 'as a guide' part. After speaking with Clydesdale they confirmed to me that they'd actually access requests up to 5 x income multiples. As also stated, it's all down to 'individual affordability'
  • Thrugelmir
    Thrugelmir Posts: 89,546 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    studentguy wrote: »
    Define profession
    a person engaged or qualified in a profession.

As your opening post.
    accountant, barrister, pilot or a doctor

Eminently employable.
    usually all people with degrees

Degrees are only the first rung on the ladder.........
  • studentguy
    Options
    As your opening post.