Inheritance Tax/Care Home Fees/Depravation Assets

Options

Comments

• badmemory
    badmemory Posts: 7,816 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I have to admit that I am a lot less concerned about £20/30k deprivation of assets than I am about someones total income being used to support someone elses lifestyle. What she is going through now is elder abuse.
  • YoungBlueEyes
    YoungBlueEyes Posts: 4,068 Forumite
    First Anniversary Homepage Hero Photogenic First Post
    edited 5 July 2018 at 12:43PM
    Options
    I'm no medical expert, but I'll share my experience in case it helps.

My father was a rather poorly man for quite a few of his later years. He had cancer twice, severe COPD so plenty of chest infections, DVT's, terribly arthritic hands, life long complications from the malaria he contracted whilst working in Africa many moons ago....

After his 2nd cancer operation a few years ago, I was collecting him from hospital when a nurse pulled me to one side and said that if I wanted, a place in a home could be found for him so that I "could get on with my life rather than spending all my time looking after a broken old man" (Unfortunately for her dad heard the whole thing. I doubt she ever used that phrase again!)
    A doctor spoke to us on our way out. Another long conversation but the gist was this - if dad hadn't started to show signs of dementia/old timers disease by now he was probably safe. He was mid 70's at that point. People that suffer usually start at least a decade earlier with the first little signs. He said the easy way to tell forgetfulness from dementia is like this :-
    Situation 1. You've been shopping in a big mall and when you come out it takes you a few minutes to remember where you parked your car.