How do I know if approach to buy shares is legit?

Options
Hello

I have no experience of shares but have power of attorney for my elderly dad who has a very small amount (about £400 worth of just one company's shares). Hoping someone may be able to help please ...

I was in process of selling them following the way recommended in the shares paperwork, as this is what my mum wanted me to do.

However, last week we got a phone call from a company in the USA saying they were acting on behalf of someone looking to take over this company and if we would sign an NDA and send details of the shares they would make us a good offer. I was very wary that it was a scam but the call came across very legit as does the follow-up email.

Sorry - I feel unable to give more specific details about this in case it is legit and we break the NDA ahead of signing! But equally wary of giving them the details they request in case it's a scam.

Any advice please?

Many thanks.

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,094 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    If it sounds too good to be true it usually is. Much better to sell the shares the usual way and be sure of getting your funds than to be caught out trying to earn a little more. Remember there would be no protection at all if you do this.
  • LHW99
    LHW99 Posts: 4,223 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Are the shares ones registered on a UK stock exchange? If so, it seems unlikely that a USA company is legitimate. Also, if something did go wrong (even innocently, such as a misplaced form) its more difficult to chase up, and as said above, no protection.
  • Paul_DNAP
    Paul_DNAP Posts: 751 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Photogenic Rampant Recycler
    Options
    Let me think, an unsolicited phone call offering a financial deal that sounds amazing? IT IS A SCAM.