Nationwide fiasco

Options

Comments

• amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,456 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    This must be one for your Solicitor to sort.

Their job, they know the case.
    I am a Mortgage Broker

You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Broker, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • davidmcn
    davidmcn Posts: 23,596 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Hummhurst wrote: »
    Solicitor keeps trying to explain to them that no SDLT is liable but Nationwide are insisting £160k is put on Transfer deed rather than just the existing debt (as per government helpline advise). As SDLT is payable above £150 therefore approx £700 is payable.
    SDLT is payable on whatever the chargeable consideration is - which is not necessarily the figure on the transfer deed.
  • TrickyDicky101
    TrickyDicky101 Posts: 3,515 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    OP who is your solicitor? Do they have much experience with Land Registry forms and dealings in respect of property transactions?
  • Hummhurst
    Options
    Yes - our Solicitor is a Senior Partner in a large law firm in Central London. We are not the first transfer of equity/further advance they have dealt with.

They are asking clarification as information needed from Nationwide to complete their paperwork is completely different to what they usually deal with. No one in Nationwide has been able to explain this.
  • malc_b
    malc_b Posts: 1,083 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options