McCarthy and stone profit warning

Options
2»

Comments

• lessonlearned
    lessonlearned Posts: 13,337 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    Thanks for that Kittie, very interesting. The findings more or less echo my own experiences, both when I worked as a manger in a sheltered housing complex and when my dad lived in one, especially Inappropriate kitchen design.

Most residents do end up of having to tweak the kitchen layouts and add extra storage etc. That's why I think it's often a good idea to buy a resale because some of the money saved can be spent on upgrading kitchens, bathrooms and extra comfort features for tailor made solutions.
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 12,492 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    moneybox live, today, saturday, I was in the car and heard some of it, was about management and ground rent charges in the small print of retirement properties. Big boys making lots of money out of the elderly. It is on iplayer, I am just about to listen to the whole of it
  • buglawton
    buglawton Posts: 9,235 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    By coincidence todays Radio 4 Moneybox had an in depth feature on retirement homes ground rent vs the new legislation banning it.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0b7cdp3

The CEO of M&S was there defending the typical £600 annual ground rent saying there are a lot of common areas in the property and these leases are sold on to investors for e.g. £15,000 apiece which helps keep new build sale prices lower.

All very well, however my experience of leasehold is that the said investors appoint a management company that uses the detailed lease terms to gouge even more fees from their leaseholders.
  • Sterlingtimes
    Sterlingtimes Posts: 2,408 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    buglawton wrote: »