We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Student loan help

Options
Hi all

I cannot understand what is going on with my od student loan. Was at uni 2005-2008. Borrowed roughly 3k per year so had in my head thats about 9k to pay back.
I have been paying back since 2009 with one short break for 5months. After not receiving a statement for year have called today and they have told me I owe £11, 773.00. I have advised I dont think this is correct but they say I borrowed 12k??

Surely after paying about £90 per month for years this should be alot less despite the interest?

I just cannot make sense of it and all Im getting from the SLC is write to us??

Any suggestions

Comments

• marliepanda
    marliepanda Posts: 7,186 Forumite
    Options
    katek7 wrote: »
    Hi all

I cannot understand what is going on with my od student loan. Was at uni 2005-2008. Borrowed roughly 3k per year so had in my head thats about 9k to pay back.
    I have been paying back since 2009 with one short break for 5months. After not receiving a statement for year have called today and they have told me I owe £11, 773.00. I have advised I dont think this is correct but they say I borrowed 12k??

Surely after paying about £90 per month for years this should be alot less despite the interest?

Any suggestions

Have you made sure youve calculated what you borrowed for both fees and your maintenance loan? If I'm correct it was 1k a year then? so an extra £1k tuition fee for 3 years would bring you up to 12k?
  • TrustyOven
    TrustyOven Posts: 746 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    edited 4 June 2018 at 9:42PM
    Options
    katek7 wrote: »
    Hi all

Any suggestions