Applying for a mortage

Options
Me and my partner are going to be applying for a mortgage in the next 2 months. I just wanted some advice on what our chances are as I am a bit worried about certain aspects.

First question: 1 week ago, I was pestered into getting a New Look store card. I read they have a 14 day cooling down period so I am going to ring and cancel tonight. However, will this still show on my credit file despite cancelling within the first 2 weeks?

Second question: When I was a student two years ago, I was able to have a planned overdraft free of charge up to £1500. All of my wage and outgoings go into a separate account so I have never cleared that off. As it is planned and classed as graduate account still, will this negatively effect me?

Third question: I got a Tesco bank loan 2 years ago and still have around 2.5 years left. I pay this back every month on time and have never missed a payment. My credit rating still shows high on experian etc but I am still worried this will go against me. Will they class this as low risk as it is so long ago?

Me and my partner both have excellent credit scores, always pay credit cards, bills and rent on time and both have well paid jobs. Any advice would be great as I am working my self up over this.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0 Newbie
    edited 22 May 2018 at 10:21AM
    Options
    Q1: Yes - it will show as a closed account

Q2: It will show on your credit files that you had an overdraft and you used it - this may impact you negatively

Q3: Again this may go against you as it shows you are desparate for cash and needed a loan to achieve this

Ignore you scores/points/ratings - they are made up and meaningless and lenders do not see them or judge your credit-worthiness by them

I would speak to a broker rather than a high street lender
  • spadoosh
    spadoosh Posts: 8,732 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options