PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Old style as an escape from the world?

Options

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 12,492 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    oh my goodness, what wonderful posts, jackieO and jojo, they remind me of the poem, I shall wear purple.

My leisure time in the house at the moment, reading and spinning and sometimes I have the radio on but love the silence and the therapeutic hum of the spinning wheel, nothing but me, no outside noise and babble

I don`t like housework but I do it because I don`t let dirt accumulate, little and often is good enough. I used to be a wonderful cook but now only cook because I want to feed my body the best. My freezer is full of home cooked meals and single portions of meat and fish, it all makes grab and go easy for me. I have better things to do

My leisure pursuits are simple, the allotment, going on the steam train, again it is the chug chug chug, all good and calming and slow. A bit of sewing, pottering in my tiered garden, maybe an NT visit. I don`t want, or need to travel, I am a contented soul

I can solve complicated problems, am good at maintenance, have an intelligent brain and can see from outside the box, can trade on the stockmarket as well as any man in the city but what people see is the now-rounded, soft featured silver-haired, small motherly grandma. I am content with that, it is what happens and now, I too can wear purple and inwardly smile, knowing that I was young once
  • wort
    wort Posts: 1,676 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I echo the wonderful words of fellow posters.