VCT within ISA

Options
I'm new to VCT's - wondering if it is possible to hold VCT within ISA?

As both capital and dividend on VCT are tax free - for new money are there any advantages of investing via VCT?

I was thinking of selling some investments within my existing ISA and subscribing to a couple of VCT offerings open currently and benefit from the 30% tax relief for this tax year. Is that possible?

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,463 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    wondering if it is possible to hold VCT within ISA?

That would defeat the purpose of holding the tax wrapper. Tax wrappers exist for a reason. If you can hold tax wrappers in other tax wrappers then nothing is achieved. Its a big like trying to put a cup inside another cup rather than pouring your drink into a cup.
    I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • Reaper
    Reaper Posts: 7,283 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options
    astreix wrote: »
    I was thinking of selling some investments within my existing ISA and subscribing to a couple of VCT offerings open currently and benefit from the 30% tax relief for this tax year. Is that possible?
    Yes, but only if you withdraw the cash you got for selling them from the ISA and use that to buy the VCTs.
  • astreix
    astreix Posts: 237 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Thanks for the responses. I think the first question is if it is possible and secondly does it makes sense doing it.