Salary works out over 48 weeks???

Options
Mrsmoney515
Mrsmoney515 Posts: 6 Forumite
Hi,
This is my first time posting on here. I'm struggling under standing how my employer works out there deductions and wondered if someone (knowledgeable) could help me with the maths please.
My salary is £15,081 annual salary
So I have worked out my hourly wage as
15081 / 52 weeks a year / 37 hours a week = £7.84ph hour.
So a days deduction would be £7,84 * 7.5 = £58.80

But my employer deducts £63.68
Which is £15,081 /48 weeks /37 hours a week = £8.49

I work 52 weeks a year at 37 hours a week with 25 days paid holiday.
Can someone please explain why the amount I'm paid per day and the amount I'm deducted per day is different?
BTW deduction is for day off looking after ill kids incase you need to know lol

Any help really appreciated, this was brought up at latest employee meeting and manager just said they were told to work it out based on 48 weeks. ��

Comments

• jobbingmusician
    Options
    I confess I don't really understand it either (and I'll be watching this thread with interest in the hope that I will be enlightened).

I think it's mean, but I would find it logical if an employer said that their employees earned their wages over 46.54 weeks. This being the time they are actually at work - the other 5.6 weeks are holiday. I can't see any logic in 48 weeks.......
    I was a board guide here for many years, but have now resigned. Amicably, but I think it reflects very poorly on MSE that I have not even received an acknowledgement of my resignation! Poor show, MSE.

This signature was changed on 6.4.22. This is an experiment to see if anyone from MSE picks up on this comment.
  • cr1mson
    cr1mson Posts: 893 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I am a bit confused you are saying your salary is Pro Rata but you seem to be working full time? Are you a term time worker? If so the 48 weeks would make sense.