Work colleague told me is going to go off sick

Options
I've been working with a new colleague at our company for 9 months, we normally spend time during breaks chit chatting about work related matters.

During one of these chats over the past 3 months my colleague shared that he had 5 more days holiday in his previous company and as he had already ran out of holidays for this year he wasn't going to go another 4 months without another holiday so intended to have a week off sick in January to realise another 5 days holiday. Both of us are at a level where we are paid for sick absence. My colleague repeated this statement to me at least on 3 separate occasions.

Come this week and this person has a mystery bout of vomiting and hasn't been to work all week so far. My boss whom is also his manager passed a jokey comment to me to message my colleague and tell him to man up and get back to work which was meant I suppose to be funny; given the information I had from him I did not find this amusing.

I'm posting this as I do not know how to proceed with this situation, I or the company cannot prove the genuineness of his illness so is it even worth raising it. I haven't had a sick day since I started with the company so am aggrieved to think that someone is getting more holidays than myself in effect and being dishonest and cheating the company.

This is also tempered by the fact the same person has told me that for the past two Monday and Tuesdays when they have been on holiday they have in fact been working for their previous company on trial in a larger role than that of when they left and if it works out they will not give notice and just not turn back up to work one day with my company. Again I cannot prove this and again not sure whether it is even worth mentioning to my company.

Any thoughts would be gratefully received.

Comments

• z1a
    z1a Posts: 2,522 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Nowt to do with you, ignore it.