No compers allowed

Options

Comments

• mjm3346
    mjm3346 Posts: 46,940 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    tgroom57 wrote: »
    None of you have noticed comps where the prize mustn't be sold on ? I must be the only person reading the terms & conditions these days.

I read them, Global (Capital, Heart, Smooth etc) and many others have them -

4.4 All Prizes are non-transferable and may not be given, assigned or sold to another person.
  • pate-ci0
    pate-ci0 Posts: 2,590 Forumite
    Options
    Bradden wrote: »
    It's a facebook giveaway.. is that legally the same as a Free Prize Draw I'm no expert and I doubt that they are.

As far as I can see, according to the ASA, the rules defining how a competition or offer of a prize is conducted is not dependent on the medium. That it is promoted on Facebook is irrelevant, it is still a free entry, prize draw, with no skill required. Thus, the winner must be an independent random choice from ALL entrants.
  • LadyMorticia
    LadyMorticia Posts: 19,899 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic First Post
    Options
    I didn't enter this but saw the post about re-drawing winners who he deemed were compers (weren't we all compers as soon as we entered our first giveaway?)

I would have entered if I had seen it because I am a consumer as well as a comper, and my husband is a music producer and so would have much use from the prize. We've been browsing around for new music equipment but guess which company we won't be using now?
    2019 Wins
    1/25

£2019 in 2019
    £10/£2019
  • vanpopple
    vanpopple Posts: 1,287 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Agree LadyM.

I cant believe how some companies dont even realise just how much potential compers have for their business.

I have bought (and won) things i didnt even know existed.
    So if i didnt enter competitions i wouldnt have known about these things.