Late twenties and fairly clueless. What should we be doing?

Options
Captain_Hook
Captain_Hook Posts: 7 Forumite
To be quite honest, I haven't really considered retirement saving until this point as my wife and I have been prioritising saving for the wedding, raising a house deposit etc. No real Bank of Mum and Dad here. We are hoping to exchange and complete in the next several weeks and so my mind has started to move towards more long-term financial planning.

Now, as a teacher, I have been contributing towards a defined benefit pension scheme since I started my first teaching job in 2012. The first two-and-a-half years were as part of a final salary (1/60, NPA 65) which has since become a career average scheme (1/57th of pensionable earnings each year, NPA 68). I currently pay 10.2% in each month. As it stands, my total pension amount represents 7.61% of the current Lifetime Allowance. I'm not sure whether that's something that I should be worried about. My wife is a doctor and has been paying into her NHS pension since she qualified in 2012. She doesn't have a clue as to the status of her scheme but believes that it's now based on her career average.

I'm not entirely sure what our plans are going to be vis-a-vis retirement. We both have another 39 years before our normal pension ages. That's a long time away and I'm not convinced that I will want (or be able) to be working at a high level to that age. I suppose some flexibility would be preferable so that we/I could retire earlier if possible. I understand that your benefits reduce (fairly dramatically) if you retire 'early' and so what I suppose I'm after are tips, anecdotal stories and whatever else that anyone wants to contributes on what we should be doing.