Options

Comments

• sofarbehind
    sofarbehind Posts: 400 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    edited 3 September 2019 at 1:45PM
    Options
    Hello everyone!

I have been reviewing my finances and having a long think about the future. I've been overpaying by £647/pm for seven months now. I have managed this fine but not been great about other additional savings, which have felt like quite a struggle to be honest. I've had a look over the past year's spending and realised that I am not being as strict with myself as I could be.

When I started this diary I was aiming for a balance between Oping and enjoying myself. The fact that even at current rate of Oping I have another 9 years to go has always bothered me. Plus I'm not even living in my ideal area! It's a bit disheartening. I have had a horrible health scare (all is ok, thankfully) and it's really made me think about security. I worked out that if I was absolutely ruthless with frugality I could pay this off in five years...

It's probably an unrealistic goal but if I adopt it the worst that can happen is that I will end up having paid more off in 2024 than currently planned. I don't know if I should try this or just get on and move to my preferred area in the new year. I will continue to mull it over. The deciding factor will be work I think. I want to change career - there is no way I can physically do my current role at 60 plus- and I'm very burnt out. So I'm applying for a training post in 2020 to do something else. If I'm successful in getting this I will have a bit of a pay cut and will probably stay here. If I am in my current career I will probably move and aim for a two bed.