Investment for income

Options
I intended to rent out a house but to be frank my wife doen`t want the hassle. This will give me £150,000 to invest. Our pensions are OK plus we have an emergency fund in ISAs and the bank. In the past I invested for capital growth, so long term. I am looking at perhaps 5% return. Any thoughts guys?

Comments

• takesyourchances
    Options
    I have a friend who rents out a house and it seems like a lot of hassle and a lot of money going back into to fix things between rents. Also 3 months without renters before the new ones go in. I thought to myself, this is not for me.

I'm not an expert, but maybe some Investment Trusts for income could be worth looking into, although maybe around 4% income for many, income funds and maybe a percentage in P2P which can return higher, but requires research too.

Just some ideas, others way above my experience I am sure can help :)
  • Pobby
    Pobby Posts: 5,438 Forumite
    Options
    Yes I was thinking about that.
  • takesyourchances
    Options
    I am building up an income portfolio as well but re-investing dividends etc - with P2P re-investing interest to help grow the pots until such times I would want to take any of the income.

While I have had a few bumps with P2P but nothing too drastic, it is also very interesting and can return well, but requires a bit of hands on and spreading around.

Good luck :)
  • Audaxer
    Audaxer Posts: 3,509 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options