Can a complete beginner make this? (sewing)

I own a sewing machine but never used it :o

Needs must now as I can't find anything suitable to buy.

Do you think it is possible for someone who has never used a machine to make this? http://www.sewmamasew.com/2014/08/drawstring-sleeping-bag-case/

I am going to use standard fabric and wont be bothering with the pocket at the front. The sewing round the circle looks hard :(

Would appreciate some feedback on how easy/possible the project is before I go out and waste money on fabric.

Thanks

Comments

• The bag itself doesn`t look too complicated, making a smallish item, (and not needing much fabric to buy) like this is a good place to start, especially as the instructions look ok.
    But you say you`ve never used the sewing machine? I`d say start off by using some scrap fabric to have a practise with the machine first, get to know it a bit. Then do a dummy run with scrap fabric perhaps? If you haven`t anything in your house you can call scrap then a cheap curtain from a charity shop might be the answer.... good luck with it, you have to start somewhere.
  • iammumtoone
    iammumtoone Posts: 6,377 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post I've been Money Tipped!
    Thanks

When I say I have never used it, I have never made anything. I have turned it on and tried to sew straight lines but that is much harder than it looks so I gave up :o

I am hoping that now being in this situation. I either make something for my son he can use easily or he struggles, its going to kick start me into doing this and going onto to make other things as well.

I will try again with the scrap material first.
  • nimbo
    nimbo Posts: 3,698 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    It shouldn’t be Too hard.

I second the practice on some cheap scrap fabric. Or an old shirt etc. To get the thread tension correct etc.