Start a 'cottage industry'... official MoneySavingExpert.com discussion

Options

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,097 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Hello, this is my first post here and I have no idea if I'm in the right place or not (please direct me to the right place if not :o ).

I am a full time student, studying illustration. As a little experiment to see if people want to buy my work, I've started using sites such as Redbubble, Zazzle and Society 6. Generally on each site, you upload your design/image onto different items and products. If someone wants to buy something, they order it and then the website in question will print it and send it to the customer without you having to do anything and you then get a percentage of the cost (varies between 10-20% depending on the site..).

My confusion is to do with tax and declaring income etc.

Does this make me freelance? Do I have to declare my earnings even if I'll make nowhere near the point where I'd have to pay tax (I'm guessing I do but have no idea how)?

I'm considering obviously contacting HMRC but after going on their site and trying to find the right section for me to be in to find the right number, I'm just more confused. I'm pretty new to all this.

If anyone can offer any kind of help or advice I'd appreciate it!

Again, I have no idea if I'm writing this in the right section! :huh:

Thanks!
    :D
  • Listerbelle
    Listerbelle Posts: 1,438 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Finefoot wrote: »
    I am thinking of offering sewing classes to kids during the school holidays. Has anyone tried this ?
    Any tips?

This is a place that we've considered for our little daughter (for when she gets older).
    http://www.homeecstudio.com/index.html
    Your biggest asset is TIME! I'm focused on multi-generational financial freedom.
  • JimmyTheWig
    JimmyTheWig Posts: 12,199 Forumite