Clearing a student Overdraft

Hi Forumers

I am after some advice for the best way to proceed
I studied for a degree that ended last year, and in the process have ended up with a £3000 overdraft on my student current account. I currently don't pay interest on it but this is going to alter in November with the Halifax's new OD fees
I have really struggled to pay anything off it, but have this week swapped about 6 DD's I had on it to my bill account that is always in credit, and was wondering if the best way to clear the debt on this would be a 0% purchase credit card (at 46 years old i've never actually had a credit card!) then set up a DD to pay this off within the time the 0% is offered, whilst reducing my OD to a very small amount to stop me spending too much (I try to be a frugal shopper, and we don't ever eat out or drink or go on holiday etc)

Any advice would be very welcome!

thanks
PCG

Comments

• bigadaj
    bigadaj Posts: 11,531
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    yes, assuming you can get the card and offer then that would be a good way of doing it.

In theory you could make some interest by paying minimum every month, saving the difference and then paying as a lump sum at the end of the deal, but the benefit may be minimal and balance/ term might be easier and more reliable for you.

Just remember not to mix a card with a 0% balance transfer deal with a card that you spend on or you will continually accrue interest.
  • Candyapple
    Candyapple Posts: 3,384
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker Intrepid Forum Explorer
    Forumite
    If at 46 you've never had a credit card you will struggle to get a 0% card.

What you actually need is a money transfer card. Enter your details below into the eligibility checker and see what the results say:

https://creditcards.moneysavingexpert.com/?money-transfers&_ga=2.218155034.2023551412.1506333675-1698003416.1506333675