Innovative Finance ISAs

Options
Hi all, please bear with me I'm new to all this. My wife and I deal with all our savings and banking absolutely jointly. Our salaries and earnings are paid into the same currant account and all our savings are held in a joint Building Society account. We have no mortgage and our house is in joint names. We have no outstanding loans or debts.
We are attracted to the idea of an IFISA and could put up to 40k into one this year. I assume that HMRC treats my wife and I as separate individuals so we cannot open two joint ISAs, only one each in one name taking all our tax free income allowance for 2017-8 ? We would then declare any further interest on other savings as half each on our separate Income Tax returns? Correct? ...and finally, holding two IFISAs for the 2017-8 tax year we could invest a further 40k in two new ISAs the following year, ie 2018-9? We are aware of the risks associated with IFISAs compared with more cautious investments.

As I say, I'm not experienced in this matter. We have never had much money before, nor debts and have recently paid off our mortgage. We now find ourselves benefitting from inheiritance from the deaths of both our surviving parents.

Comments

• greatkingrat
    Options
    You can't hold an ISA in joint names. You can both invest £20k each before April 2018, and then both invest another £20k each in the next tax year.
  • Alexland
    Alexland Posts: 9,653 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Yup the clue is in the name they are for individuals. However there is nothing stopping you from synchronising the provider, product, investment dates and investment choices so that the accounts mirror each other - thats what we do with our LISAs and it makes it easier to track and remember the terms and conditions. Eventually once some promo deals have expired we will get our S&S ISAs matched too.