odd situation, free parking

i understand it is frowned upon to post here without reading the newbie thread but i have, i skimmed through it and even did a ctrl f search on the word ''free'' but nothing relevant came up.

I have received 3 parking tickets from ''first parking'' on a university campus where parking is ''FREE'' if you have a permit,i was not able to get a permit as you are made to apply early in the year and i had to bring my car later due to issues at home.

Just to be clear the parking company have not incurred any loss, there is always much free space.

I have not responded to anything from the company, i was recommended not to pay as i could not afford to at the time, (i'm a student)

I have now received a letter from a debt collection agency asking for payment., they are trying to scare me with the classic beavis case on the letter.

Remember, I could not afford to pay the initial fee and i sure can't afford to pay the greater fee.

I feel like i'm being scammed, i was parked on private land and the parking was free anyway, i had no choice due to extenuating circumstances yet was not allowed a permit.

As a last resort i may be able to argue that there was not sufficient signs but im not sure this is still an option.

In total they was £160 currently per ticket, 3 tickets in total, will i be taken to court? please advise.

Thank you in advance, i appreciate the time and effort you all put into helping people in need for free. Saints fighting scroungers.

Replies

• SystemSystem Forumite
    177.9K Posts
    10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    I feel like i'm being scammed,

No you are not
    i was parked on private land and the parking was free anyway,

It was free to those invited onto the land. You were trespassing
    i had no choice due to extenuating circumstances yet was not allowed a permit.

Then take it up with the Uni who hired FP and explain to them. If it was genuine circumstances, then they might cancel it.