duff laptop battery help please

Options
13»

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    I had the same problem, I've been using my laptop off the mains for the last 2 years because it wasn't worth risking a cheapo battery setting fire to the house. I couldn't find anyone selling kosher Samsung batteries so I assumed they were obsolete.

This thread prompted me to start searching again, and I found out that the type number marked on the battery is not the type number it's known by, so once I searched for the other number I found plenty of suppliers.

The new battery arrived half an hour ago, so I can now unplug without the palaver of shutting down and rebooting. Bliss!
  • JamboDP
    JamboDP Posts: 41,299 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    WAYT wrote: »
    So is yours subject to recall?

My laptop is eight years old and did the same thing. Rather than trying to fix it, I bought a second hand original battery for a fiver. Job done.

So if all else fails and you want an original, you can do the same: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-Sony-Battery-for-VPCEH16EC-VPCEL15EC-VGP-BPL26-VGP-BPS26-VGP-BPS26A-A62-/252402104468

This is claimed to be new and original: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-Original-Sony-VGP-BPS26-VGP-BPS26A-VPC-CA-VAIO-VPC-EH-Laptop-Battery-/401343540179

Just ordered a second hand battery from ebay for £25 taken out of a lap top the exact same model as mine, fingers crossed should be OK.

thanks for your help WAYT
    I do it just for fun and whatever I win is a bonus
  • WAYT
    WAYT Posts: 694 Forumite
    Options
    JamboDP wrote: »
    Just ordered a second hand battery from ebay for £25 taken out of a lap top the exact same model as mine, fingers crossed should be OK.

thanks for your help WAYT

I guess the one to which I linked had sold out by the time you clicked through, as that was £19.99.

Otherwise £35 for a genuine original(if original) seems better value.
  • JamboDP
    Options