Postage issues.

Options
Hello all - I'm relatively new to eBay (I think I've only bought about three or four items so far) so I'm not really sure what to do in this situation. I ordered an item on Thursday afternoon, and it promised 48 hour delivery.

I got a confirmation email and then a few hours later I got an email stating that the item had been posted. I was away over the weekend as I only really expected the item on Monday (when eBay stated estimated delivery). Well Monday came and went so I decided to check the tracking number provided. According to the Royal Mail website the only tracking information they had is: "we have been notified that your item is being shipped by the retailer; the next scan will appear when we receive this item into our network." I asked the Royal Mail on Twitter and this morning and they said that they don't think the item has been posted yet.

I sent the seller an email asking if they had any more information as I know that the tracking can sometimes be a little wonky. They replied telling me to wait until Friday and then contact them again if it hasn't arrived. They did also state that they'd sent the item.

I guess what I'm asking is - does this sometimes happen with the Royal Mail? I don't want to give them bad feedback if it's out of their control. Do I open a case on Friday if it still hasn't arrived? I decided to use this company primarily because they offered quicker postage. Is this something I should ask eBay about? I feel a little fobbed off but I'm sure that's not their intent.

Thank you everyone.

Comments

• theonlywayisup
    theonlywayisup Posts: 16,031 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Unfortunately it can happen.

RMT scans will show when the item was dispatched. Do you have the tracking number - do you mind sharing it?
  • SunnyMorningDays
    Options