Barclaycard Cashback removing the 1% Amex card

Options

Comments

• miller
    miller Posts: 1,630 Forumite
    Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post Photogenic
    Options
    That's a shame - I'm a sole trader and earn around £70 a month using the Amex 1% cashback.
    Just got my letter too.

Probably best not to mention that to them as IIRC there are clauses about business use in the T&Cs, obviously nothing to stop you doing it though and it may not matter now anyway.
  • miller
    miller Posts: 1,630 Forumite
    Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post Photogenic
    Options
    A mock up of the original Egg Card is in this article along with some of the earlier history for those wanting some nostalgia:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/newsbysector/banksandfinance/8354336/The-history-of-Egg-a-shattering-experience.html
  • nk8
    nk8 Posts: 64 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Thank you for this thread, had I not read it, I would have never known BC were ending AMEX! I never received the letter. I too have been with them since Egg at the very beginning. Shame because I use my BC AMEX everywhere and love that CostCo accept it here and in US.
  • Deru
    Deru Posts: 621 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Shame because I use my BC AMEX everywhere and love that CostCo accept it here and in US.

I went to the US last November. Amex ended their deal with Costco in the US so it's no longer accepted there. New partner is Citibank.

Anyway, I lost my Amex counterpart card today and was told over the phone it was being discontinued. Worst still, they cancelled the cards straight away so I lose a month and a bit left of the 1%.

Looking at the bright side, I still have Barclaycard Plat giving 2% for petrol and supermarket plus 0.5% for everything else. Hope that sticks forever...