Student- Where should i Save?

Options
Hi all,

Read a few articles and threads here, quite alot of information to take in, and can be difficult to workout what is better. Got a couple of questions I hope some more experienced members can answer.

I'm currently a FT student with about £100 per month to save, and interested in the stock market, and wondering if buying shares in a few companies is wise with this amount of money each month available. Any recommendations for stockbrokers that would suit regular buying/selling for this amount of money would also be appreciated. Alternatively, would a savings account be better?

Secondly, Will any interest earned be taxed? , or can It be reclaimed back?

Thanks,

Digi

Comments

• Lokolo
    Lokolo Posts: 20,861 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    £100 a month isn't really enough for buying shares. ~£12.50 will go when you take out one set of shares leaving you only with £87.50. You can always save for a few months then buy some.

I am a student myself wooooo, but I put my student loan into an ISA. But you are only saving £1200 a year (with an ISA you put a max of £3000 a year, tax free, so when you are older and paying tax you won't pay tax on this). You could either do this or just put it into a regular savings account.

Tax wise, you will be taxed (depending who you bank with, Egg let you declare it yourself). But you will be able (most probably) to claim it back, it really depends how much income from a part time job you've earnt.

Any questions?
  • CLAPTON
    CLAPTON Posts: 41,865 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    If you are interested in learning about shares I would suggest to set up a 'fantasy' portfolio of shares so you can see how you would get on without any actually risking any real money. There are lots of sites that run these .. you could try www.iii.co.uk
    You have to register but its free.