Pre-reg/Demo/Used car to buy but untaxed and no MOT

Options
Hi all
I just subscribed to the forum and this is my first post. I tried to search but it seemed no one asked/described the scenario I am experiencing.

I am about to buy a car from an official Nissan car dealer. The car has very low mileage (less than 1k miles) and it has a registration number.

I checked on the government website and it seems that this car is untaxed. The gov website shows the tax was due in Jan 2017. Then there's no MOT records for the vehicle. I have attached a screenshot for this..

s18.postimg.org/66m4fh5p5/Screenshot_20170429-181714_2.png

This makes me worry as this is my very first time I 1) buy a car in the UK 2) deal with anything that relates to the world of cars etc.

Everything is new for me. By looking/reading around looks like you need to be vigilant as it seems salesmen can sort of rip you off or also do whatever it takes as long as they sell... please correct me if I'm wrong and/or seem too paranoid.

Questions I have are:

Why is the car untaxed?
Given the tax was due in Jan 2017, why is still untaxed?
Given the tax was due in Jan 2017, would I be subject to fines because of that?
Given the car has less than 1k mileage, why there's no MOT record? Should it have any?
What happens if I buy this untaxed car with no MOT record whereby at the same time it has made almost 1k of mileage??

Thank you in advance for your help and support.

Comments

• lincroft1710
    lincroft1710 Posts: 17,646 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Dealers don't tax the cars they have for sale. The buyer of the car is responsible for taxing it from the date he buys it. Cars less than 3 years old do not need a MOT.
    If you are querying your Council Tax band would you please state whether you are in England, Scotland or Wales
  • AdrianC
    AdrianC Posts: 42,189 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options