Teachers and income protection/critical illness.

I am a teacher. I have 6 months full and 6 months half pay. I also have a critical illness and life insurance policy. I am now wondering whether I should also get income protection (deferred for 52 weeks/half pay/own occupation). All serious illnesses are covered by my critical illness policy and I am questioning whether therefore whether it is worth getting the extra cover and paying the extra premiums? Also how easy would it be to get medical retirement through teacher pensions if the worst came to the worst and I permanently couldn't teach?
Should I get both? Cancel the CI and take out IP instead? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Weighty1
    Weighty1 Posts: 1,180 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 1 May 2017 at 5:02PM
    Personally, I'd have both in an ideal world (I do!)

What's the most common reason for teachers going off work.............stress, probably. Your critical illness plan wouldn't cover that whereas an income protection plan would, at least the long term IP would, provided you've not got a history of mental health issues.

In addition to that, how much critical illness cover do you have? Most people cover their mortgage so in the event of a claim you can repay your mortgage but how do you then pay for food, council tax, gas, water, electric, the car etc etc etc.

You could look at a policy with a split deferred period so that you start to receive an income after 6-months to top up your 1/2 pay and then a 2nd element starts to pay out after 12-months when the sick pay stops altogether. A 6-month deferred period is often only very slightly more expensive than a 12-month deferred period but would maximise the chance of you claiming on the plan and therefore gaining some actual benefit from it.
  • Aretnap
    Aretnap Posts: 5,207 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    All serious illnesses are covered by my critical illness policy...