Littlewoods extra care adavntage/PPI

Options
I thought I'd post my on going experience with trying to reclaim PPI from Littlewoods or extra care advantage as it's also seems to be known as. Hopefully it will be of some use to someone out there. It's on going at the minute so there has been no definitive outcome yet.

I've been paying extra care advantage for a few years and couldn't remember ever agreeing to it so decided (after searching on MSE) to see if I could claim any or all of it back.

The first thing I did was to ring customer services who were quite helpful. I asked if it was possible for all my past statements because now I had gone paperless I could only go back one year online. I was told they could only provide the previous 10 years worth and that it would be a charge of £5. Not bad I thought as it was a start. To be honest I couldn't remember when I had opened the account so I asked if they check for me. I was put on hold for 5 minutes while the manager was consulted. The customer services operator then came back to me and told me I had opened the account in October 2000 but they could still only provide me with 10 years worth of statements.................................oh, and it was actually £5 per copy not £5 per for the whole lot :eek: I said that was a ridiculous charge and unjustified.

Not to be swayed away from the pursuit I then decided to send a letter by recorded delivery. I used a template letter my partner found through MSE and sent that to Littlewoods data protection department in Chelmsford. I included a £10 postal order to cover the DSAR charge if one was to be applied. Very quickly an email came back to me asking to clarify my address and date of birth. It also said that no charge would be applied, my £10 would be returned and the information I requested would be sent to me through the post.