PPI help please :)

Options
Hi, I am new to this so all help appreciated!

I have written to Clydesdale bank to ask if I had any ppi with them in the past. I have received a letter from them listing my accounts and against some of them it says "unable to determine" .

Any idea what I do to? 😊

Comments

• Agricolae
    Agricolae Posts: 380 Forumite
    Options
    Clydesdale Bank were fined some time ago by the FCA for essentially not looking hard enough when considering PPI claims, so you'd hope by now they'd have upped their game (I'm not suggesting they haven't looked hard enough here).

If it says "unable to determine" then that probably means the account is so old they don't have any records for it. This means they'll assume there was no PPI unless you can provide something which shows otherwise - for example some old paperwork which shows PPI coming off a credit card, or being added to a loan or whatever.

Do you have anything like that?
  • Nasqueron
    Nasqueron Posts: 9,010 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Agricolae wrote: »

If it says "unable to determine" then that probably means the account is so old they don't have any records for it. This means they'll assume there was no PPI unless you can provide something which shows otherwise - for example some old paperwork which shows PPI coming off a credit card, or being added to a loan or whatever.

Do you have anything like that?

Which is logical, they couldn't refund if they have no evidence a policy existed

OP can either go with what they were told or risk £10 on a DSAR and see if they dig out any old stuff from the archives